

Annual General Meeting

16 May 2019

Events Centre, Stewart House 32 Russell Square London WCIB 5DN

Minutes

Attendees:

Steve Boorman Chair

Tom Stewart Deputy Chair Kris Ambler BACP (Observer)

Miles Atkinson ACPOHE
Andrew Baldwin BPS
Roger Bibbings RoSPA

Alison Biggs RCOT SS Work

Sue Carty **FOHN** John Chisholm **RCGP** Rebecca Coaker Macmillan Robin Cordell Director Katherine Dearden **BOHS** Anne de Bono **FOM** Katherine Fuller **HSE** Mike Goldsmith Director Rob Hampton Invited guest

Julie Hughes
Richard Jones
Sayeed Khan
Make UK
Maggie Mbanefo-Obi
Mandy Murphy
Nick Pahl
Director
SOM

Emma Palmer NHS Health @ Work Network Helen Parsons NHS Health @ Work Network

Smijs Pookottill SOM (Observer)

John Price HSE
Joy Reymond Director
Hugh Robertson TUC
Genevieve Smyth RCOT
Tony Vickers-Byrne CIPD

In attendance: Anna McNeil

1. Welcome and apologies for absence

The Chair welcomed everyone to the meeting and thanked the NSOH for providing the venue and lunch for the meetings.

The following apologies had been received:

Karin Bishop Director
Alison Margary BOHS
Karen McDonnell RoSPA
Bev Messinger IOSH
Claire Moser RCSLT

Louise Murray NHS Employers

Nicola Neath BACP

Shriti Pattani NHS Health at Work Network

John Pilkington Director
Rachel Suff CIPD
Justin Varney Advisor

Angela Whitehead Ioh (formerly AOHNP)

2. Minutes of the AGM held on 16 May 2018

The minutes of the meeting held on 16 May 2018 had been circulated. It was noted that all actions had been completed. The minutes were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.

3. To note the results of the election for three Directors

It was recorded that Joy Reymond and Robin Cordell had been re-elected as Directors. Bev Messinger had been elected as a Director.

SB recorded his thanks to John Pilkington who had stood down as a Director, adding that he had been a very active member of the Board and his input had been greatly valued.

4. To note the membership of the Board of Directors and their retirement dates:

It was noted that the following were now Directors of the Board and their retirement dates noted:

Steve Boorman Chair Tom Stewart **Deputy Chair** 2022 Karin Bishop Director 2021 Robin Cordell Director 2022 Mike Goldsmith 2021 Director **Bev Messinger** Director 2022 2021 Mandy Murphy Director Joy Reymond Director 2022 Diana Kloss Honorary President Lifetime

5. To confirm the reappointment of accountants – Begbies

The attendees confirmed they wished Begbies to be reappointed as the Council's accountants, and thanked them for all their help and advice during 2018. A confirmation letter would be sent to Begbies.

Action:. SB / AM

6. Annual Report

The Chair confirmed that his full report would be circulated to the members following the meeting. He informed the meeting that the Council continued to grow and reported that the Board had just accepted the FSEM as new members of Council. He would, however, review further applications for membership as the current size of membership was possibly the largest that could be accommodated in terms of finding meeting venues etc. He added that he had been working closely with the Work and Health Unit and that there currently was very good Council participation on many working parties. He concluded by saying that he was extremely pleased with the regular attendance at Council meeting, with an excess of 30 attendees attending all meetings.

Action: SB / AM

7. Financial Statement for financial year 2017-18

The financial statement for the financial year 2017-18 had been circulated. It was noted that there was currently £8k held in restricted funds. This was acknowledged.

8. Any other business

There was no other business and the AGM closed at 1245.